One Slap to Many

I met a man in the dark.

Said he’d been nine months in the hole

Said Mister, I know

Gone ten years I been in a Hole.

I met a man in the Hole

Said he’d been stuck nowhere to go

Said Mister, I know

Gone ten years, though I know a way from this dark, dank place

He turned  his face aside.

I met a man in the dark hole

reminded me it had been nine months from last he saw the light, of day.

I made him smile and laugh; cracks appeared through the dark, light, began to shine again, he shielded his eyes rather than turn away.

I met a man in the dark

Told me how nine months had passed.

I said I know, been more than ten years in a hole; I know a way out; here take my hand, he slapped it away as he did I heard him proclaim as he laughed I’m going to make you work for it…. I  made no reply nor did I leave him to his fate.

I met a man in the Hole

said been nine months in the cold

I said Mister I know past ten years there myself

I opened my heart where the fire burns bright  and warm that he may take warmth once again

He turned his back with scorn said it was too hot.

I met a man in a hole

it was dark it was damp from tears that had been wept

He reminded me it had been nine months, that none understood how it’d been for him during his nine-month stay

I said Mister, I know

Been ten years or so, I understood.

Here take my hand I know a way

He leant forward and raised his as if to greet as if to grasp, then slapped my face harder still than before, as he proclaimed he was not stupid he was no fool, I replied no one ever said you were, still I did not leave him to his fate.

I sat with a man in a Hole now, near on a month had passed, each morn I greeted him well for the day, each night I wished him peaceful slumber good dreams to visit in the night.

He told me once more  nine months had passed

how he felt so alone, just wanted to feel wanted by another gain some companionship, maybe a lover.

I said Mister I know, I am here, have been for some time, I’ve not left, here take my hand… He leant forward and slapped my face harder than ever before as he proclaimed

I’ve given you near on a month of my life in this hole; an accusing question unasked in his voice What have you done in this time, I have given, what of you?

Arrogance and Self-conceit are his keepers unseen. Self-remorse the darkness he pulls across his eyes. The Hole he sits within made by his hands swiping slapping away kindness love friendship companionship given, without a word of me crowing.

The Sands of time have they run their course? one slap too many, one slap too hard? Time to spread my Wings to leave this cold dank darkness of anothers making; one slap to many, one slap too hard? Time to spread my Wings and leave? Time to spread my Wings to leave or hold out my hand one more time?

One Slap too hard one too many Time to spread my Wings to leave or hold out my hand one more time?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

